Favorite Books

Favorite books are like old friends.  They remind me of who I was, who I am, and where I’m going.  I think I know them completely, but a fresh read often provides surprises.  What I  forgot is as significant as what I remember, and my feelings about the characters and plot sometimes change as well.

Diving into a favorite book at the end of a long day is a unique kind of joy.  Different from the excitement of a new book by a favorite author, it’s the more restful contentment of a return to a familiar place that nevertheless contains surprises.

Leave a Reply

