Easy When You Know How

Tutoring a student today, I saw him go from frustrated to confident when he realized that the problems we were working on were no longer incomprehensible.  Suddenly they were easy.  Of course the problems didn’t change; he did.  Suddenly he knew how to solve these problems and in that instant they became easy.

The learning curve is rarely a slow and steady assent.  Something new is hard and then it’s easy with very little in between.  I find that encouraging.  I may not know how far away I am from that tipping point, but I know it’s coming and all I have to do get there is not quit.

Leave a Reply

